Motor Sports

RAR to host second annual Legends of the Redwoods; Bandoleros set to return

Submitted photo

The Legends division will enjoy the spotlight at the Redwood Acres Raceway this weekend, while some old friends will make a welcome return.

On Saturday night, the local raceway will host the second annual Legends Of The Redwoods, with many of the division’s top drivers from outside the area expected to compete along with the local contingent.

The main event winner will receive a check for $2,000.

In addition, the Bandoleros division will be racing for the first time at the local track since 2020, giving young drivers from Humboldt County and from out of the area the opportunity to compete on on the high banks of a bigger track.

The Bombers, Mini Stocks and Roadrunners will also be in action, while the Late Models will have a bye.

Last season’s debut of the Legends Of The Redwoods was a two-day affair, with Brandon White and Cody Winchel each winning a feature event. 

This year’s season championship race is a close one, with current points leader Tyler Avelar holding a slender one-pointer advantage over Jordon Paiment.

Both will be expected to be among the top contenders for this weekend’s big race.

Maleesa Miles, Scott Taylor and Chris Sarvinski are third through fifth in the points standings and each of them will be hoping to play spoiler and win their first Legends main event.

In the Bomber division, meanwhile, Jordan Krupa has a strong 25-point lead over Raquel Krupa in the season standings. Steve Kimberling is third, with rookie Kadence Toland fourth and Tyler Krupa fifth.

The race for the Mini Stocks championship appears set to go down to the wire, with just nine points separate the top three drivers — Brian Murrell, Jr., Gary Klinetobe and Cole Peterson.

Gannon Cyphers has impressed in the division this year with three wins to his name, but a missed race has him fourth in the season standings. 

Regular frontrunner Jarrett Mayo has also missed some action and is fifth in the standings.

In the Roadrunners division, meanwhile, Tanisha Ratzlaff is enjoying a big summer and already has two feature wins, including the first win of her young career.

Her closest competitor in the points standings is Dylan Ford, who is 10 points behind. 

Nick Ford, Jeremiah Martin and Brian Hopkins round out the top five.

Tickets for this Saturday’s race night can be purchased for $10 online at or at Automasters or Don’s Rent-All in Eureka, McKinleyville Barbershop, or JC Auto in Fortuna. Tickets will also be at the gate on race day. 

The race will be streamed live on and SpeedSport.TV for $15. 

A practice will be held Friday from 1 p.m. to 8 p.m.

The grandstands open at 4 p.m. on Saturday, with racing starting at 5:30.

Leave a Reply