Eureka girls, Fortuna boys top the field at H-DNL meet


Photos by Ray Hamill/

By Ray Hamill — Fortuna’s Bo Cox was a four-time winner at Wednesday’s H-DNL track and field meet for the second straight week, as the Huskies won the varsity boys competition for the second straight week.

Cox, who is enjoying an outstanding spring so far, placed first in the 400 meters, the long jump, the triple jump, and as part of the 4x400m relay team.

A deep Fortuna team comfortably outdistanced Eureka, 154-113, for the team win, but the Loggers posted their first win of the season in the girls competition, scoring 184.5 points, with Arcata (145.5) in second.

Sophomore Ginny Brooks continued to shine for the Eureka girls, winning three events.

Brooks placed first in the 110m hurdles, the long jump and as part of the 4x100m relay team.

The Eureka relay team, which also included Emily Pesch, Taziyah Harris and Klayre Barres, edged out McKinleyville’s Leah Circe, Soffia Reyes, Kathryn Tinney and Mackenzie Bray by less than half a second.

It was also a good day for Arcata’s Macdonald sisters, with Anneli placing first in both the 1600m and 3200m, and twin sister Mathilde placing first in the 800m.

Arcata’s Ai-Lan McGoldrick was also a double winner on the day, placing first in the 400m and the triple jump, as was Barres, who took top spot in the 200m in addition to her relay success.

Two McKinleyville athletes were also double winners on the day, including sophomore Kalyssa Claros, who took first in both the shot put and discus.

Teammate Bray was first in the 300m hurdles and as part of the 4×400 relay, along with Reyes, Tinney and Olivia Rink.

On the boys side, Fortuna’s Connor Pratt was a triple winner, placing first in the 100m, and as a part of both relay teams.

McKinleyville’s Nathan Witte took first place in both hurdles races, while Eureka senior Ian Bennett won both the 800m and 1600m for the second straight week, edging rival Collin Stockwell by just a second in the latter.

Boys Results

100m — Connor Pratt placed first in a time of 11.56 seconds, just three hundredths of a second better than Isaac Ward of McKinleyville, with Hoopa’s Larry Tracy in third.

200m — Ward placed first in 23.4 seconds, followed by Ferndale’s Cayden Collings half a second back and Arcata’s Aidan Shelton in third.

400m — Cox was first in 54.84 seconds, with Arcata’s Alex Spanos and Ian Letts rounding out the top three.

800m — Bennett won with a PR of 2 minutes, 0.9 seconds, followed by Stockwell four seconds back and Arcata’s Jude Ortega in third. The top 10 times in the event were all PRs.

1600m — Just a second separated Bennett (4:43.75) from Stockwell (4:44.77), with Ortega again rounding out the top three.

3200m — Senior Thomas Becannon gave the Loggers a key victory in a time of 10:44.03, just over three seconds ahead of Fortuna’s Adam Calvert in second. Fortuna’s Logan Calvert was third.

110m Hurdles — Witte was first in a time of 16.10 seconds, followed by Eureka’s Nathaniel Spears and Jaime Ortiz.

300m Hurdles — Witte completed the hurdles double in a time of 41 seconds, followed by Del Norte freshman Noah Burg and Ortiz.

4×100 Relay — Fortuna’s RJ Rexford, Pratt, Breck Bishop and Tai Bolden took first in a time of 45.74 seconds, followed by McKinleyville’s Jayson Rodriquez, Witte, Jace Thompson and Ward, who were less than a second back.

4x400m Relay — Fortuna’s Cox, Pratt, Angel Ornelas and Stockwell placed first in a time of 3:42.56, followed by McKinleyville’s Rodriquez, Thompson, Ward and Witte in second, again less than a second behind.

Shot Put — Del Norte’s Bryson Price placed first with a throw of 41 feet, 0.25 inches, edging out teammate Blane Winningham by less than a foot, with Eureka’s Joseph Gonzalez in third.

Discus — Gonzalez placed first with a throw of 119-05, an impressive 19 feet better than Fortuna’s Keith Chitenden in second and Hoopa’s Gerard Marshall in third.

High Jump — Del Norte’s Peyton Swan placed first with a jump of 5-10, followed by Fortuna freshman Russell Pascasio in second and Del Norte’s Isaiha Sherman in third.

Long Jump — Cox was first with a jump of 20-02.5, followed by Spears and Bolden.

Triple Jump — Cox rounded out a phenomenal day with a jump of 37-08.5, edging out Pascasio by half an inch, with Sherman in third.

Girls Results

100m — Del Norte’s Gianna Taylor was first in a time of 13.34 seconds, edging Barres by just two hundredths of a second, with Del Norte’s Tianna Thompson in third.

200m — Barres was first in a time of 27.63 seconds, with McKinleyville’s Tinney in second and Thompson in third.

400m — McGoldrick won by seven seconds in a time of 1:02.53, followed by Eureka’s Lila Ekholdt and Brynn Hales.

800m — Mathilde Macdonald placed first in a time of 2:30.61, followed by Eureka freshman Miriam Mende and McKinleyville’s Hannah Jacobs.

Check out our video highlights of the race here …

1600m — Anneli Macdonald was first in a time of 5:19.73, 10 seconds better than Mathilde in second, with freshman and younger sister Soquel Macdonald in third.

3200m — Anneli Macdonald continued her long distance dominance, winning in a time of 10:53.27, a new PR, followed by Soquel Macdonald in second and Eureka’s Charlotte Leonard in third.

110m Hurdles — Brooks won in a time of 17.09 seconds, half a second ahead of Bray in second. Arcata’s Seri Welsh was third, as six of the seven runners in the final set a new PR.

300m Hurdles — In a reversal of the 110m hurdles, Bray edged out Brooks for first by just one hundredth of a second, with Del Norte’s Alyssa McCovey in third.

4×100 Relay — Eureka’s Pesch, Brooks, Harris and Barres timed a 53.08 for first, less than half a second better than McKinleyville’s Circe, Reyes, Tinney and Bray.

4×400 Relay — Bray, Reyes, Rink and Tinney won in 4:30.03, which was almost 11 seconds better than Arcata’s Mathilde Macdonald, Sydney Hasselquist, Anneli Macdonald and McGoldrick.

Shot Put — Claros was first with a throw of 30-11.0, followed by Del Norte’s Caleh King and Eureka’s Alley Williams.

Discus — Claros made it a double victory in the throws with a 94-07, a remarkable 18 feet better than Fortuna’s Tristan Jones in second. Williams was third.

High Jump — Fortuna’s Skylar Little and Eureka’s Bella Vigil, both seniors, tied for top spot with identical jumps of 4-08, followed by Del Norte freshman Lily Sherman in third.

Long Jump — Brooks won with a jump of 15-08.0, with Taylor more than a foot back in second, and Little third.

Triple Jump — McGoldrick won with a jump of 31-04.0, almost three feet better than Makayla Jackson in second. Sherman placed third.

Leave a Reply