Owsley, Shaver crowned league champs in cross country

File photo – Ella Owsley

Seniors Ella Owsley and Daniel Shaver both set PRs on their way to winning an H-DNL cross country championship at the Arcata Marsh last weekend.

Eureka’s Shaver saved his best for last with his first win of the season after three straight second-place finishes at league events.

He finished the 5K course in a time of 16 minutes, 56 seconds, with McKinleyville junior Damian Dinan placing second just 12 seconds back.

Del Norte sophomore Dylan Rodriguez was third in a time of 17:36, followed by Eureka’s Kaelan Docherty (17:40) and Everett Docherty (17:54).

Shaver and Kaelan Docherty were the only two seniors in the top 11 and they played a big role in securing the team championship for the Loggers, who scored 38 points to Arcata’s 45.

McKinleyville was third with 71 points.

McKinleyville’s Jace Thomson and Arcata’s Reece Thompson, Levi Browne, Nathan Whitney and Kai Frimodig finished sixth through 10th.

Arcata’s Ocean Walker was 11th and the only freshman in the top 15.

Fortuna’s Owsley, meanwhile, capped an outstanding league season with a 16-second victory.

Owsley finished the 5K course in a time of 19:49, with Arcata senior Ai-Lan McGoldrick second in a time of 20:05.

The victory was the fifth in seven league races for the Fortuna standout, who smashed her previous PR by almost half a minute.

Arcata had three of the the top four finishers, with senior Gabrielle Ducate (20:56) in third and senior Alauna Thompson (21:04) one spot back.

And that gave the Tigers a comfortable team victory over Eureka, 17-38.

Senior Charlotte Leonard led the Loggers in fifth (21:10), followed by Arcata’s Lillian Cunningham and Debi Dorfliger, Fortuna’s Gabby Crosswhite and Eureka’s Miriam Mende and Sequoia Ashby sixth through 10th.

Cunningham was the highest placed sophomore, while Eureka’s Molly Rose was the highest place freshman in 12th.

Arcata dominated the JV races, with sophomore Emma Martin winning for the girls and sophomore Camden Narwold winning for the boys.

1 reply »

Leave a Reply