Panthers dominate H-DNL all-stars


Photos by Ray Hamill/ – McKinleyville pitcher Cameron Saso and catcher Dustin Ireland were named MVPs of the Big 5 for 2019.

By Ray Hamill — The Humboldt-Del Norte League officially announced the list of all-stars and MVPs for the 2019 season in both baseball and softball on Tuesday.

And there were no major surprises, with four McKinleyville student athletes taking the four major awards in the Big 5.

In total, the Panthers had 16 players named all-league or honorable mention after sweeping both the baseball and softball Big 5 championships this spring.

In baseball, Cameron Saso was named MVP pitcher, while teammate Dustin Ireland, who enjoyed an outstanding season behind the plate and at the plate, was named MVP player.

They are joined on the all-league first team by teammates Lance Lally, Corbin Eichin and Kyler Carr.


Olivia Alves

In softball, another catcher, Olivia Alves, was named MVP player, while her Mack teammate McKenzie Gonsalves was named MVP pitcher.

Joining them on the first-team all-league team are Jaycee Morais, Lexi White and Grace Rosebrook.

In the Little 4, baseball champions St. Bernard’s had five players named first-team, including MVP pitcher Caleb Ruiz and MVP player Hunter Davis, a third H-DNL catcher named MVP.

In softball, L4 champions Hoopa had five players named to the first team, including MVP pitcher Savannah Ray Colegrove, a freshman who took the conference by storm this spring.


Hunter Davis

Rounding out the major awards, St. Bernard’s Ally Del Grande was named MVP player in the Little 4 after closing out an impressive high school career with another dominating campaign.

Little 4 softball

In what was the most successful season ever for local high school softball, with three section champions among the nine H-DNL teams, Division-VI winners South Fork had two players named to the all-league first team and Division-V winners Hoopa had five.


McKenzie Gonsalves

Another outstanding young pitcher, Joslin Todd, gets the nod for the Cubs along with teammate Jasmine Todd.

For the Warriors, who are back-to-back league champs, Naschewen Hunsucker, Alexia Jackson, Jasmine Kinney and Daisy Tracy all join Colegrove as all-league selections.

Rounding out the Little 4 all-stars are Ferndale’s Makenzie Renner, and St. Bernard’s Calissa Stokesberry and Emma Wilson.

Big 5 softball

In Big 5 softball, meanwhile, Arcata’s Kori McCracken and Maria Morehose were each named all-league after playing a pivotal role in the Tigers’ breakthrough campaign, which saw them make it to the NCS playoffs for the first time in several years.

Eureka also enjoyed a stellar season that saw the Loggers win 20 games and make it to the second round of the NCS postseason, and had three players named all-league first team, Karyn Jensen, Alexa Morehouse and Sadie Hampton.


Savannah Ray Colegrove

Rounding out the Big 5 first-team all-stars are Del Norte’s Laycee Coopman and Fortuna’s Paige Johnson, each of whom will play at College of the Redwoods next year.

Big 5 baseball

In Big 5 baseball, Arcata’s NCS championship winning team has two first-team all-stars, Merek Sears and Jaden Gorge, while Eureka’s Keenan Morris, David Vagle and Hayden Bode each also made the grade.


Caleb Ruiz

Vagle and Gorge are outgoing seniors who enjoyed plenty of success with their respective teams, including two NCS winners medals for Gorge.

Morris and Bode, meanwhile, are two of the top sophomore talents on the North Coast this season, and Sears is coming off an extremely impressive campaign that saw him named Humboldt Sports Pitcher of the Year.

Rounding out the all-stars are Fortuna’s Sheaden Kadle and Del Norte’s Kaden Ritter, the latter of whom is enjoying a big summer with the Northern Humboldt Giants 17U.

Little 4 baseball

In Little 4 baseball, conference champions St. Bernard’s had five players named first-team all-league.

In addition to Ruiz and Davis, Bode Joyner, Lane Thrap and Cole Petrusha each also made the grade.

For Ferndale, Landon Gomes and Austin Hughes each were named all-league along with Hoopa’s Daniel Minton and Kagan Renteria and the talented South trio of C.J. Van Meter, Cooper Scott and Cody Wyatt, who were each instrumental in leading the Cubs back to a second straight NCS championship game.


Ally Del Grande

Honorable Mentions


Big 5

Regan Wolfe, Isaac Puzz, Chase Fisher and Jake Reeser (McKinleyville); Vincent Agliolo, Alex Gorge, Mason Trapkus, Damien Shelton, Xavier Finegan and Asher Meadows (Arcata); Brady Munson, Kalebh Hill, Isaak Gutierrez, Jackson Giacone and Zac Anderson (Eureka); Sebastian Puente, Ayden Schultz, OJ Calleja and Justin Goudelock (Del Norte); Garrett Aust, Gabe Sandberg Branson Gans, Caleb Crawley and Dylan McNeill (Fortuna).

Little 4

Logan Petrusha and Nick Dugan (St. Bernard’s); Shaun Leonardo, Garrett Christiansen and Jenner Christiansen (Ferndale).


Big 5

Jada Bailey and McKenna Turner (McKinleyville); Lola Renteria, Bella Volz-Broughton, Makayla Bernald and Mekaynea  Solia (Arcata); Sadie Wilkinson, Raime Young, Makaila Napoleon and McKenna Beach (Eureka); Kaleya Sanchez, Shelby Horner, Jamiesha Jordan, Madeline Burchell, Mckenzie Fernandez, Kaia Langlois and Josephine Heuberger (Del Norte); Morgan Murray, Renee Metz and Olivia Sanchez (Fortuna).

Little 4

Beyonce Bussell, Estelle Colegrove, Dawn Latham-Vanpelt and Karlee Lewis (Hoopa); Bryleigh Busick, Brianna Rimmey, Sydney Smith and Macey Sutherland (Ferndale); Regina Saloman and Kylie Savio (South Fork) Rachel Rodrigues and Mackenzie Finck (St. Bernard’s).

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply