Warriors dominate in final H-DN regular season meet

The Del Norte boys will carry some momentum into next week’s H-DN track and field championships after a strong showing at the fourth and final league meet of the regular season in Crescent City on Wednesday.

The Warriors won six of the 16 events and comfortably took the team win with 121.5 points, well ahead of Eureka in second with 99 points.

A pair of Del Norte athletes won multiple events, including speedy freshmen Deken Hanks, who won both sprints and teamed with Aden Mintonye, Brytson Price and Caden Harrison to place first in the 4x100m relay.

Mintonye also won the 300m hurdles and was second to Hanks in the 100m.

Other winners for Del Norte included Dylan Rodriguez, who set a PR with a time of 2 minutes, 3.47 seconds on his way to victory in the 800m, and Lyon Rigden, who set a PR in winning the pole vault with a mark of 11’6”.

McKinleyville’s Derek Ray and Eureka’s Jamin Guilbert both continued to impress in the throwing events.

Guilbert smashed his old PR by 14 feet on his way to victory in the discus with a throw of 160’9”, which is second best mark in the North Coast Section this spring.

Ray won the shot put and was second in the discus with a PR of 147’5”, followed by Del Norte’s Gavin Skerik in third, while Guilbert was second in the shot put followed by teammate Joseph Gonzlez in third.

Arcata’s Eric Jackson was a triple winner on the day, teaming with Luke Lemke, Mason Taylor and Luke Moxon to take the 4x400m relay and winning the high jump with a PR of 6’2” and the long jump with a mark of 19’6”.

St. Bernard’s Owen Shanahan was second in the high jump, followed by Fortuna’s Russell Pascascio in third, while Taylor was second in the long jump, followed by Harrison.

Pascascio fared better in the triple jump with a victory, with Eureka’s Preston Richards in second and Southern Trinity’s Dennis Wheeler in third, while Ferndale’s Isaak Kasso continued to impress in the hurdles with a first place in the 110m hurdles, followed by McKinleyville’s Jace Thompson in second and Mintonye in third.

Rounding out the individual winners, Brookings-Harbor’s Tanner Anderson-Nelson won the 400m with a PR of 53.20 seconds, while McKinleyville’s Damian Dinan was first across the line in the 1600m with his best time of the season (4:36.85) and Eureka’s Everett Docherty placed first in the 3200m with a PR of 10:37.53).

Anderson-Nelson also placed second in the 200m, followed by St. Bernard’s Aaiden Burris in third, while Kasso was third in the 100m and Moxon was second in the 400m, with McKinleyville’s Rylee Collart in third.

Fortuna’s Luke Kamrud was second to Rodriguez in the 800m, followed by Eureka’s Daniel Shaver in third, with Shaver faring one better in the 1600m, followed by Docherty in third.

Arcata’s Levi Browne placed second in the 3200m, with Eureka’s Ashton Plessinger third, while Thompson was second in the 300m hurdles, followed by Richards in third.

Del Norte dominated the pole vault, with Gabe Howard second to Rigden and four of their teammates tied for third.

The league championship will be held on May 6, with the trials taking place at McKinleyville on Tuesday.


Leave a Reply