Dugan, Standish named H-DNL MVPs in baseball

Photos by Ray Hamill/ – Nick Dugan

By Ray Hamill — St. Bernard’s senior Nick Dugan has been named Little 4 MVP in baseball, the H-DNL announced on Tuesday.

Dugan is coming off a sensational senior season and on Monday he led his team to a NorCal championship victory to close out an outstanding high school career.

The league also announced that Eureka’s Myles Standish has been named MVP of the Big 5 after leading his team to a co-league championship along with Arcata.

Standish was a force on the mound this spring for the Loggers and finished 8-4 with an ERA of 2.28.

He had a couple of hugely impressive outings, including a 47-pitch no-hitter at Fortuna.

Dugan finished 12-0 with an ERA of 0.82.

The two MVPs faced off late in the season in the Charlie Lakin Tournament semifinals and served up a classic pitchers’ duel, with Standish striking out 18 in a 1-0 win.

The Eureka junior edged Arcata senior Vincent Agliolo for the MVP award.

Agliolo also had a big season both on the mound and at the plate to help lead the Tigers to share of the Big 5 championship and a victory over Eureka in the Lakin tournament decider.

Myles Standish

Vincent Agliolo

The senior was one of four Arcata all-league first-team selections, along with fellow seniors Alex Gorge and Nick Parker, and junior Will Mager.

Agliolo will play at Lassen College next year, while Gorge will play at Shasta College and Parker at Ohlone College.

Joining Standish on the all-league team are Eureka teammates Jackson Giacone, Caden Vance and Rogan Bode.

Giacone, who is the only senior among the Loggers honorees, will play at Cal State Fullerton next year, while Bode and Vance are multi-sport standouts.

Jared Dixon

Del Norte senior Jared Dixon, who will join Agliolo at Lassen next year, also was named to the all-league first team after a big senior year for the Warriors.

McKinleyville’s Riley Bates and Fortuna’s Cole Ayla and Rylan Lommori were each also named all-league after big springs for their respective teams.

In the Little 4, meanwhile, Dugan was is joined on the all-league team by fellow Crusaders Aidan Dorsch, Cayden Lee, Braeden Zimmerman and Drew Vizenor, each of whom played a pivotal role in their team’s remarkable postseason success that saw the Crusaders win an NCS and NorCal championship double.

Ferndale’s Mattias Alejandre, Paden Prior and Trent Titus each also were named all-league first team, along with South Fork’s Tanner Curran and Broc Contreras and Hoopa’s Kagan Renteria.

Jackson Giacone


Big 5

Eureka — Richard Reeves and Robert Williams

Arcata — Finn McRae, Anthony Ebert, Miles Oliver and Chet Keasey

Fortuna — Matt Letter, Daniel Osborne, Cody Collins, Cody Sauers and Troy Bugbee

McKinleyville — Brodie Sargent, Tyson Bragg, Bryce Sargent and Logan Maher

Del Norte — William Bommelyn, Brody Mattz, Cooper Maxwell and Ethan Thomas

Darvin Davis IV

Little 4

St. Bernard’s — Brody Tomlin, Jeran Ford, Tyler Dimmick, Perry Bailey and Tyson Meyer

Ferndale — Levi Dixon, Parker Prior and Austin Michel

South Fork — Evertt Paula, John Harding and Justin Freitas  

Hoopa — Darvin Davis IV and Trey Crawford

Leave a Reply