Warriors, Loggers win H-DNL wrestling championships


Photos by Ray Hamill/

By Ray Hamill — The Del Norte boys were crowned H-DNL wrestling champions at Arcata High on Saturday after taking six individual championships with four runners-up.

Fortuna was second with four individual winners, followed by Eureka in third and Arcata fourth.

The girls championship was won by Eureka, which edged out Del Norte by just 17 points, taking seven individual title to the Warriors’ six.

Fortuna placed third with one individual winner, followed by McKinleyville in fourth.

The top three individual wrestlers in all weight classes will automatically now advance to next week’s North Coast Section championships.

“Overall, there was a lot of good wrestling today by all the teams,” said Arcata head coach Eric Mikolai, whose team hosted this year’s event. “Now we put our H-DN rivalries behind us and as a league we go to sections and root for each other.”

Del Norte’s Blake Allen (126 pounds), Chaz Harrison (132), Skyler Moore (145), Tanner Stancliff (170), Brandon Jones (195) and Keadon Henderson (220) all took home championships, as the Warriors scored 202 points to Fortuna’s 151.


Andrew Hansen (138), Levi Nyberg (152), Breck Bishop (160) and Luciano Medina (285) all won individual championships for Fortuna.

Arcata’s Josh Hannan (113) and Marley Harris (120), Eureka’s Nathaniel Silva (106), and McKinleyville’s Skylar Hicks (182) also each won individual championships.

In the girls competition, Eureka’s Sarah Grow (116), Slate Delsman (121), Yarelli Rendon-Gomez (131), Kelli Johnston (143), Maizie Fugate (150), Helena Rogers (170) and Aracely Rendon-Gomez (189) each won an individual championship.

For Del Norte, Emilia Thompson (101), Savannah Williams (106), Avary Wiley (111), Emily Ricks (126), Adenne Schaad (137), and Danika Scott (235) each also won their individual brackets.

Fortuna’s Lonna Torrez also won at 160.


In a new format at this year’s meet, the girls championship matchups were held at the same time as the boys, with the finals alternating.

“We just did a little bit of a different format, and hopefully that’s something other coaches will take into consideration when they’re hosting in the future,” Mikolai said. “It keeps fans in the stands and gives the girls the respect they have earned by putting the hard work in.

“More people in the stands makes it more exciting for the kids.”

Other top finishers for the girls included Eureka’s Camille Shaver (106), Alejah Angel-Lopez (111), and Eva Begovic (137), who each placed second in their brackets, while teammates Emily Nord (126) and Noelani (235) each placed third.


Del Norte’s Jenny Schaad (116), Esuna Thor (121), Claire Taylor (131) and Arelli Proctor (143) each also placed second, while Daisy Frias (160) was third.

Fortuna’s Nanice Ford (126) and Coral Ciarbellini (170) each were second, while Tristan Jones (116) placed third.

McKinleyville’s Christina Ellebrecht was second at 235 and Alicia Lavnius was third at 131.

Hoopa’s Stormie Lewis placed third at 137 and Arcata’s Willow Mays was third at 121.

In the boys team competition, Del Norte scored 202 points, followed by Fortuna (151), Eureka (127), Arcata (82), and McKinleyville (56).

In the girls team competition, Eureka scored 175 points, followed by Del Norte (158), Fortuna (49) and McKinleyville (21).


Other boys results


2 — Isaac Weaver (McKinleyville)

3 — Liam Brennan (Arcata)

4 — Aaron Park (Del Norte)


2 — Andre Aflague (Del Norte)

3 — Tyson Meyer (St. Bernard’s)


2 — Logan Krause (Fortuna)

3 — Isaac Cook (Eureka)

4 — Micah Malfavon (Del Norte)



2 — Tyrell Clausen (Arcata)

3 — Anthony Gioviannini (Eureka)

4 — Gary Speir (Fortuna)


2 — Micaiah Montalbin (Fortuna)

3 — Chance Wright (Eureka)

4 — Gabriel Ramos (Arcata)


2 — Nolan Ridgley (Del Norte)

3 — Jason Marshall (Hoopa)

4 — Inder Singh (Eureka)


2 — Igyann Jimenez (Eureka)

3 — Grant Omey (St. Bernard’s)

4 — Hunter Ciarabellini (Fortuna)


2 — Walker Gensaw (Del Norte)

3 — Tyler Thomson (McKinleyville)

4 — James Perkins (Hoopa)


2 — Kurtis Turner (Del Norte)

3 — Conner Berg (McKinleyville)

4 — Sean Rowland (Eureka)



2 — Asa McKenzie (Fortuna)

3 — Micah Burke (Eureka)


2 — Nolan Jacobus (Eureka)

3 — Michael Weiland (Del Norte)

4 — Angel Martinez (Fortuna)


2 — Evan Bacon (Eureka)

3 — Cody Sallee (Fortuna)

4 — Tucker Rice (Arcata)


2 — John Bailey (Eureka)

3 — Jaydin Lewis (Fortuna)


2 — Maximus Rice (Arcata)

3 — Davian Afdahl (Del Norte)

4 — Shyloh Nicholson (Eureka)

Leave a Reply