Arcata Tigers to induct new Hall of Fame class this week

Three individuals and a team will be inducted into the Arcata Tigers Hall of Fame this week.

Jerry Ross (class of 1970), Grant Rider (1981), Paul Wienicke (1985) and the 1995/96 girls basketball team will all be honored at the induction ceremony, which will take place on Thursday at the Fine Arts Building at 6 p.m.

Ross was a three-year varsity letterman in football and a team captain and all-league defensive lineman his senior year.  

He also was a four-year varsity letterman in baseball and a first-team all-league first baseman as a junior.

He would go on to coach the Arcata JV girls basketball team and was the Tigers head baseball coach in 1982.

Ross then moved to Gold Beach, Oregon, and taught and coached football, baseball, softball and girls basketball for over 25 years.

He was named 2A basketball and softball coach of the year in 2000.

Rider, meanwhile, competed in cross country, wrestling and track and field and was a 12-time varsity letterman and eight-time all-league selection.

He ran for the Tigers all four years in cross country, winning the league championship in his senior year.

Rider also wrestled all four years in high school and won league titles as a sophomore and a junior, including going undefeated against H-DNL grapplers as a junior.

He was known as a middle distance specialist in track and placed first at the North Coast Section championships in the 3200 meters.

Wienicke was a standout running back/linebacker and played football all four years in high school.

He was named all-league as a senior when he led the league with 12 touchdowns.

Wienicke also wrestled for two years in high school, winning a league title at 175 pounds as a senior before going on to win an NCS championship and reaching the semifinals of the state championships.

Wienicke would go on to play football at Cal Poly Humboldt (then Humboldt State), where he was a four-year starter at running back and earned second-team all-conference honors as a junior.

The 1995/96 girls basketball team finished with a record of 28-1 and reached the semifinals of the NCS Division-3 tournament.

The dominating Tigers won tournaments at Fortuna, McKinleyville and Fort Bragg and remarkably outscored their Big 5 opponents by an average of 23.7 points.

The team, which was ranked as high as sixth in Division 3 in the state, was coached by Scott Meredith and Tahnia Campbell and included Erin Derdin-Little, Marne Hendrickson, Krystyna Hofstra, Teri Jones, Christy Minkema, Allson Murphy, Amie Myers, Kacey Parker, Sonia Shisido and Jennifer Vinum.

1 reply »

Leave a Reply