Motor Sports

Redwood Acres crowns season champions on final night of action

Photo by Sherie Bialous

Champions were crowned in all five local divisions at the Fall Spectacular Event at the Redwood Acres Raceway on Saturday night.

The season finale event also included the first visit of the year by the North State Modified Series, with Darrin Knight winning the 60-lap Dale Baldwin Memorial race, which featured the richest purse in the history of the touring series, totaling $20,500.

Heading into the final night of the season, the race for the Late Models championship was still very much up in the air, with just three points separating leader David Henderson from his closest challenger, Mike Doss.

In an exciting main event that saw the lead change hands several times, Henderson surged to the front with just a few laps to go and held on for the win.

The victory also secured the season championship, with Doss placing second.

The race for the Mini Stocks championship was equally tight, with just three points separating the top two, Gary Klinetobe and Brian Murrell, Jr.

Jarrett Mayo took the checkered flag in the main event, but Klintobe’s second-placed finish was enough to secure the championship.

In the Legends division, Tyler Avelar’s 33-point lead coming into the night was too much for his rivals to overcome.

Jeremy Doss placed first in the main event, with Avelar second, followed by Chris Lawrence, Guy Young and Carlee Austin.

It was a similar story in the Roadrunner division, with Tanisha Ratzlaff holding a 17-point lead coming into the final event.

Ratzlaff’s second-place finish in the featured race was good enough to seal the season title.

Ryan Walters took the checkered flag, with Tim Ratzlaff third, Nick Ford fourth and Dylan Ford in fifth.

Jordan Krupa also was crowned season champion in the Bomber division.

Krupa, who held a 25-point lead coming in, placed third on the night.

The featured race was won by Ryan Walters, with Raquel Krupa second, Tyler Krupa fourth and Gannon Cyphers in fifth, while subbing for Steve Kimberling.

The 2022 season will officially conclude at the annual banquet on Nov. 5.

Leave a Reply