Warriors set the pace at Mack wrestling tournament 

Photos by Ray Hamill/

Del Norte took home the team championship at the weekend McKinleyville boys wrestling tournament, comfortably outpacing the rest of the field, which included eight of the nine H-DNL teams.

The Warriors scored 202 points, followed by a young Fortuna team in second with 147 points.

Eureka (134) placed third, with Ukiah (21) and Hoopa (106) rounding out the top five.

The Del Norte boys won six of the 13 weight classes, including victories for Brandon Jones at 195 and Jase Mintonye at 220.

Del Norte also took individual championship in four lightweight divisions.

At 106, Del Norte’s Alexander Osbourne defeated Fortuna’s Austin Butcher for the championship; at 120, Del Norte’s Eric Stansbury defeated Fortuna’s Mason Evanow; at 126, Del Norte’s Isaac Lopez defeated Fortuna’s Dominic Talavera; and at 132, Del Norte’s Curtis Bartley defeated Eureka’s Johann Ilan.

Fortuna had six wrestlers compete in championship matches, including Asa Mckenzie, who got the better of Eureka’s James Gensaw in the 152 decider, and Weylan McKnight, who defeated Hoopa’s Antonio Correa at 182.

In addition to Butcher, Evanow and Talavera, Fortuna’s Cayden Spiers also placed second to Willits’ Jayden Finley at 113.

The 136 final was an all-Arcata affair, with Josh Hannan defeating teammate Paolo Bosques-Paulet, while the 170 final was an all-Hoopa showdown, with Kaewett Nelson getting the better of teammate Jason Marshall for the title.

At 145, meanwhile, McKinleyville’s Jace Thompson won a tournament championship for the second week in a row, defeating Rogue River’s Anthony Isom in the decider.

Thompson also took first in his weight class at the Del Norte tourney the previous weekend.

And rounding out a big field, at 160 Ukiah’s Robbie Henderson defeated Rogue RIver’s Ricardo Cook for the championship.

Leave a Reply