Motor Sports

Winters overcomes engine Issues to win at RAR

Photos by Sherie Bialous – Scott Winters celebrates his win on Saturday night.

There was plenty of excitement at the Redwood Acres Raceway on Saturday night at the third event of the season, with a full slate of action, including the Late Models, which returned for the first time since the season opener on May 1.

Also in action were the Legends, Bombers, Mini Stocks, Roadrunners and the North State Modified Series.

David Miller was a double winner in the Late Models, winning the heat race and the 50-lap feature. 

Ryan Walters was second in the main event, with David Henderson, Eugene Palmer and Scott Baker rounding out the top five.

The North State Modified Series had an impressive field of 16 cars, with Kyle Tellstrom setting a quick pace in qualifying.

His 16.276 was just a shade off of the track record he set during the 2020 Fall Spectacular. 

Scott Winters took the main event after enduring some engine problems in the lead up to the weekend, with Ian Elliott, Rich Cobb, Keith Bloom and Darrin Sullivan rounding out the top five.

Tellstrom suffered a spectacular crash on the fourth turn of the main event, with his car hitting the wall hard, but fortunately he was unharmed.

In the Roadrunner division, Steve Kimberling barely held off Tanisha Ratzlaff for the win, with the two cars side by side down the back stretch.

Dylan Ford placed third, followed by Jeremiah Martin in fourth and Michael Lawrence in fifth.

Photos by Sherie Bialous – Brandon White and Tyler Krupa in action during the Legends race on Saturday.

In the Mini Stocks, Colton Kinsey won the main event in only his third-ever start, with C.J. Dalton, Sam Brown, Brian Murrell Jr. and Eric O’Ferrall rounding out the top five.

Loren Powers, Jr. took the checkered flag in the Bomber division, with Tyler Krupa second, followed by Jordan Krupa, Ed Rasmussen and Bridget Steeves.

In the Legends, Brandon White took his second main event of the season, with Chris Lawrence, Brett Murrell, Tyler Krupa and Carlee Austin rounding out the top five.

Racing action returns to the local track on June 19.

Leave a Reply