HSU announces new hall of fame class

Humboldt State Athletics

By Ray Hamill — Long-time former HSU Athletics Director Dan Collen has been included in the 2021 hall of fame class, which was announced by the Lumberjacks on Wednesday.

The HSU athletics department announced both the 2020 and 2021 class of inductees on the same day, with a total of 13 individuals and one team included.

Collen oversaw the department from 2002 to 2016, a period that saw memorable runs for the Jacks in both men’s basketball and softball, including a national championship in the latter.

Collen also was the AD when Rob Smith was hired as football coach to kick start a successful era at the Redwood Bowl.

A former player from that era also will be inducted to the Jacks athletics hall of fame — running back Lyndon Rowells, who also starred at College of the Redwoods.

The one team included among the two classes is the 1976 men’s cross country team.

The date of the hall of fame ceremony will be announced later this year and it is most likely to take place somewhere in February or March 2021. 

Due to COVID-19, HSU added that the ceremony might be virtual.

2020 Class of Inductees

Laura Champ (volleyball, 1991-94) 

Heather Johnston (women’s soccer, 1993-96)

Scott Peters (men’s cross country/track and field, 1976-79)

Lisa Petty (women’s basketball, 2009-13)

Lyndon Rowells (football, 2010-11) 

Chrissy Stalf (softball, 2010-13) 

2021 Class of Inductees

Nicholas Bawden (men’s track and field, 2007-08)

Bridget Berg (women’s cross country/track and field, 2009-12)

Dan Collen (Director of Athletics, 2002-16)

Katie Harris (rowing, 2010-13)

Staci Self (women’s soccer, 2003-06)

Anetra Torres (softball, 1992-95)

Zack Weinberger (football, 1999-2003)

The 1976 men’s cross country team

Leave a Reply