HSU to honor 2018 Athletics Hall of Fame class

Humboldt State will celebrate homecoming by inducting a new class of student athletes into the Athletic Hall of Fame this week.

This year’s inductees include Taylor Boggs (football), Zac Tiedeman (men’s basketball), Carolyn Cameron (softball), Brittney Taylor (women’s basketball), Ken Hammer (cross country), and the 1972-73 wrestling team.

The class will be honored at halftime of the Saturday’s football game at the Redwood Bowl, with kickoff set for 6 p.m.

Boggs was a football standout during his time at HSU, receiving multiple NCAA awards, including AFCA First Team All-American as well as AP Second Team All-American

Boggs came to HSU as a walk-on, but exceeded expectations by making the All-Great Northwest Athletic Conference first team in three of his four seasons.

Tiedeman’s won NCAA All-Region honors in 2009 and 2010, and was named California Collegiate Athletic Association Player of the Year in 2010.

He holds the HSU all-time record in free-throw percentage (89.5 percent), and ranks 10th all-time in 3-point field goals made (120) as well as the seventh all-time in assists (277) and fifth all-time in single-season assists (138). 

During his two seasons in green and gold, he helped his team advance to the NCAA West Regionals.

Cameron, meanwhile, was a standout shortstop for the Lumberjacks, receiving multiple honors during her collegiate career. 

She collected all-region honors in 2006 and 2007, and was named an All-American following her senior season. 

She was also a two-time first-team all-conference selection in 2006 and 2007, while leading her team to conference championships in each of her four seasons with the Jacks. 

She holds the record for the most hits in a single season (96) and ranks second for single-season runs scored (69). 

Cameron is also fourth in single-season batting average (.429) and career RBIs (203), and holds the fifth spot for career hits (288) and the sixth spot for career batting average (.379).

Taylor was an outstanding center for the HSU women’s basketball team. 

She was named an NCAA All-American and was an all-region third-team selection in 2010, and was voted a first-team all-conference selection in both 2009 and 2010. 

She ranks second all-time at HSU in field goals (493), third in points scored (1,294) and sixth in rebounds (597). 

Taylor gained notoriety after setting multiple single-season records during her 2009 and 2010 seasons. 

Taylor ended her Lumberjack career as the all-time single-season record holder in scoring (562 points) in 2010. 

That year, the Jacks won the CCAA Conference tournament to advance to NCAA West Regionals.

Hammer was a two-time cross country All-American, as well as a two-time track & field All-American. 

In 1975, he received All-American honors and was the Far West Conference champion in the mile. 

He was named an All-American again in 1978 for his marks set in the steeplechase.

Traditionally one of HSU’s strongest track events, Hammer holds the No. 7 spot all-time in the 1,500 meters (3:50.4).

The 1972-73 wrestling team was the only team in program history to end with a perfect 17-0 record in dual meets. 

Led by Hall of Fame coach Frank Cheek and All-American wrestlers Doug Stone and Brent Wissenback, the Lumberjacks won the prestigious Chico State Tournament. 

Following their big win, the Jacks finished second in the Far West Conference. That year, Humboldt placed 21st in the National Tournament.

Leave a Reply