Motor Sports

David Miller Earns $3,000 Rhododendron 100 Victory

Photo by Bryan Rudick – David Miller (22) won the second annual Rhododendron 100 at the Redwood Acres Raceway on Saturday night.

The Redwood Acres Raceway season got off to an exciting start on Saturday, with Oregon’s David Miller taking the checkered flag in the second annual Rhododendron 100.

The veteran driver took the lead with 30 laps to go in the late models featured race and held on down the stretch to claim the winning purse of $3,000.

The opening night of the 2023 season served up some thrills and excitement with all five local divisions in action.

Ryan Walters won the first late models heat race while Brandon Barnwell won the second.

British Columbia’s Darrell Midgley led for most of the main race, but Miller mounted a challenge on lap 70 and was able to use the high line to power his way into the lead. 

Miller was able to withstand a late race restart to take the victory over Midgley, with Ryan Walters, Luke Hall and Nick Ford rounding out the top five.

Jeremy Doss had the fastest time in the Legends qualifying and also won one of the heat races, with Chris Lawrence winning the other.

The 30-lap feature was an absolute thriller between Cole Brown and Doss and the two drivers had a fantastic nip-and-tuck duel for the lead.

A lap 22 spin by Marcus Finney on the backstretch happened right in front of the leaders. 

Brown and Doss avoided hitting Finney but Brown appeared to damage his right front trying to squeeze between Finney and the outside wall and he fell out of the race. 

Doss was able to go on to take the win over his father Mike Doss, Tyler Avelar, Tyler Krupa and Landon Green.

Brandon White was fast time for the bombers and was also the heat race winner. 

White took the early lead in the main event but fell out of the race suddenly on lap 13. 

That handed the lead to Jordan Krupa and he was able to take the victory followed by Doug Way, Kadence Toland and Tanisha Ratzlaff.

It was Gary Klinetobe’s night in the mini stocks as he set fast time and went on to win the heat race and dominate the main event on his way to the checkered flag.

Jarrett Mayo, Colton Kinsey, Nick Ford and Cole Peterson rounded out the top five. 

The season will continue on May 12 and 13 with a two-day event with the Gunslinger Sprint Cars racing on both nights.

Leave a Reply