Motor Sports

Redwood Acres Raceway celebrates its fans on action-packed weekend

Photo by Rendle Brothers Racing – Aaron Willison celebrates after winning the Gunslinger Sprint Cars 30-lap feature.

The Redwood Acres Raceway celebrated its fans on an action-packed weekend, while also welcoming the Gunslinger Sprint Cars to the local track for the first time.

The weekend included back-to-back nights of racing on Friday and Saturday and also included the Upstate Bomber Series, as well as the raceway’s first annual Bike Giveaway with more than 50 bikes donated to local kids. 

Saturday’s Gunslinger Sprint Cars 30-lap feature was won by Aaron Willison, followed by Kyle Alberding, Austin Carter, Adam Carter and Adam Anderson.

Brandon White and Jeremy Doss each won a heat race in Upstate Bomber Series action, with White then taking the checkered flag in the 50-lap Rumble In The Woods, which featured a total purse of $7,500. 

White won $3,000 with the victory, with Doss in second, followed by Loren Powers, Jr., Terry Pittman and Raquel Krupa.

Doss also had a good night in the Legends division, slicing his way through the field on the way to winning the feature race, with White second, Aiden Daniels third, Kylie Daniels fourth and Tyler Avelar fifth.

An exciting 25-lap Mini Stocks main event was won by Gary Klinetobe, with Gannon Cyphers a close second, followed by Jarrett Mayo in third, Brian Murrell, Jr. in fourth and Jerry Peterson in fifth while subbing for his son Cole Peterson.

Rounding out a busy Saturday night, Brian Hopkins had a good night in the Roadrunners division, leading from start to finish on his way to victory in the main event, with Tanisha Ratzlaff in second and Nick Ford, Dylan Ford and Landon Green rounding out the top five.

On Friday night, Doss was able to gain the lead in the late stages to take the main event win in the Legends division, followed by White, Chris Lawrence, Maleesa Miles and Scott Taylor.

Friday’s Bomber main event was dominated by Powers, who took the victory over Doss, Terry Pittman, Ryan Walters and Tyler Krupa.

Also on Friday, Mayo took his first main event win of the season in the Mini Stocks, with Joe Bonomini, Klinetobe, Murrell, Jr. and Cole Peterson rounding out the top five, while Ratzlaff dominated the Roadrunners main event, with Brian Hopkins, Dylan Ford, Wayne Marsh and Nick Ford second through fifth.

The 2022 season concludes on Sept. 24 with the annual Fall Spectacular. 

Leave a Reply